The Nash family moved to Grapevine in 1859. They purchased 110 acres of property and a log cabin from Henry Suggs. In 1869, the family constructed the house at this location. Following the Victorian tradition of using vibrant colors, the Nashes painted their home a rich green and trimmed it in gold.
A. Front Parlor
A 19th Century parlor offered a common space for families and their guests to gather. It was also a place for learning and entertainment and sometimes a place to rest.
B. Entry Hall
The entry hall was an important part of the house as guests were received from this room and it served as a corridor in which house circulation could be ventilated.
C. Master Bedroom
The master bedroom would not have been open to guests visiting Nash Farm. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Nash, under the age of six, would have also slept in this room in the trundle bed that you may see under the main bed. This trundle has rope springs, which gave the expression “sleep tight” its meaning.
D. Dining Room & Kitchen
The Nash Farmhouse kitchen of today actually comprises three separate rooms that all play a very important role in the history of the family and life of the 19th Century. The first room was a cross hall which provided access to the east and west porches. The kitchen and dining room were built separately from the rest of the house due to the heat created by the wood burning stove.